Words, Rants, Rock n Roll

ID-100112502If you asked me what I hope to accomplish as a mother, the list would be as long as a scroll. There is so much that I want for my children. So much I want them to experience,  learn, understand, and become. Even in light of all these hopes and dreams, there is one thing of which I have been acutely aware since my firstborn lived inside me: I am connected to my children, but I do not own them. I can place limits around their behaviour, but, especially as they get older, the training wheels are going to have to come off and they are going to be who they are going to be. At the end of the day, I am living my life, and they are living theirs. The last thing that I want is for them to spend their only life trying to please me.

Is…

View original post 900 more words

